Sunday, September 25, 2011

The Kingmaker, Kingbreaker Trilogy by Karen Miller

Some of you may have heard of the Kingmaker, Kingbreaker duology by Karen Miller. The famous books which consists of:

1. The Innocent Mage.
2. The Awakened Mage. (a.k.a. Innocence Lost)

From the cover of the first novel The Innocent Mage:
Enter the kingdom of Lur, where to use magic unlawfully means death. The Doranen have ruled Lur with magic since arriving as refugees centuries ago. Theirs was a desperate flight to escape a powerful mage who started a bitter war in their homeland. To keep Lur safe, the native Olken inhabitants agreed to abandon their own magic. Magic is now forbidden them, and any who break this law are executed. Asher left his coastal village to make his fortune. Employed in the royal stables, he soon finds himself befriended by Prince Gar and given more money and power than he’d ever dreamed possible. But the Olken have a secret; a prophecy. The Innocent Mage will save Lur from destruction and members of The Circle have dedicated themselves to preserving Olken magic until this day arrives. Unbeknownst to Asher, he has been watched closely. As the Final Days approach, his life takes a new and unexpected turn

From the cover of the second novel The Awakened Mage:
“The evil foretold has risen … and we are all that stands between it and the end.”

Asher has come a long way for a fisherman’s son. Together with his friend Prince Gar, he has defended their kingdom against its bitterest enemy, but at great cost.
Now, the evil mage Morg is preparing for his most deadly assault. Desperate, trapped in a broken body, Morg has little time and fewer scruples. And he has a plan.
As Gar and Asher unwittingly fall into a dangerous deception, Morg gets ever closer to his goal. And this victory would be particularly sweet, for who better to destroy the kingdom than the two who would give anything to save it?

But has now turned into a trilogy with the release of the new book. The new book being the prequel, happening hundreds of years before the later books 1 & 2. The book is called:

0. A Blight of Mages.

From the cover of the prequel novel A Blight of Mages:

Hundreds of years before the great Mage War, a land lies, unknowing, on the edge of catastrophe...

Barl is young and impulsive, but she has a power within that calls to her. In her city, however, only those of noble blood and with the right connections learn the ways of the arcane. Barl is desperate to learn-but her eagerness to use her power leads her astray and she is banned from ever learning the mystic arts.
Morgan holds the key to her education. A member of the Council of Mages, he lives to maintain the status quo, preserve the mage bloodlines, and pursue his scholarly experiments. But Barl's power intrigues him-in spite of her low status.
Together, he realizes they can create extraordinary new incantations. Morgan's ambition and Barl's power make a potent combination. What she does not see is the darkness in him that won't be denied.
A Blight of Mages is the new novel set in the world of Karen Miller's bestselling debut The Innocent Mage.

Anyway, these books are good if you just wanted to spend some quiet evenings reading an entertaining  book for a couple of hours (per book) or an evening or two maybe with hot coco by your side (or a Starbucks, which ever you like). I haven't read the prequel book myself as I have went to get a copy of that book but the other 2 was a good read from my opinion (I've finished it 3 times, and that's quite hard to get from me). I actually received the later 2 books of the series from a friend. It was in his book cupboard. (aaannnddd... I haven't returned these books since. Hahahaha)

Overall, I'd give this 2 books a 4.5/5!

Asyari Amir

1 comment:

  1. 4.5/5? that is pretty high.. Personally I'd rate it a point below that .... highest would be 4.0/5 simply because the story isn't as comprehensive. It's a good read just not enough. Is that possible? anyway i nak download that new prequel book. thanks